Introduced by:

CITY OF TAKOMA PARK, MARYLAND RESOLUTION 2017SUPPORTING HB 285 (SB 265) – WASHINGTON METRORAIL SAFETY COMMISSION MEMBERSHIP ACT

WHEREAS,	a Washington Metrorail Safety Commission is to be established by the District of Columbia, Virginia, and Maryland; and
WHEREAS,	the Commission will be governed by a six-member board of directors with two representatives and one alternate each from Maryland, Virginia, and the District of Columbia appointed by their respective mayor or governors; and
WHEREAS,	Prince George's County and Montgomery County are the two Maryland jurisdictions where Metrorail tracks and stations are located and where most Maryland Metrorail users reside; and
WHEREAS,	HB 285 (SB 265) provides that one regular member of the board of directors of the Commission appointed by the Governor be a resident of Montgomery County or Prince George's County and provides that the regular member of the board who is a resident of Montgomery County or Prince George's County may not be succeeded by an individual who is a resident of the same county.
NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF TAKOMA PARK, MARYLAND supports HB 285 (SB 265) to ensure that there is always representation of either Montgomery County or Prince George's County on the board of directors.	
Adopted this, 2017.	
Attest:	
Jessie Carpenter, CMC City Clerk	