## CITY OF TAKOMA PARK, MARYLAND

## **RESOLUTION 2015-14**

## APPOINTING MEMBERS TO THE COMMEMORATION COMMISSION

- WHEREAS, the City Council established the Commemoration Commission in November 2014 to document, maintain, and preserve past, present, and future memorials, commemoratives, and recognitions in the City; recommend to the City Council procedures and programs to honor and commemorate individuals, organizations and businesses that have made significant contributions to the social, cultural, historical, political, economic, or civic life of the City as a whole or to a neighborhood/local area as well as programs for individuals to honor others; implement such programs within its scope and budget; and decide on recognitions after opportunity for public review and comment; and
- WHEREAS, the Commission is comprised of up to nine but not less than five voting members who shall be residents of the City of Takoma Park, and four non-voting members; and
- WHEREAS, at least one voting member may be nominated by each of the ward Councilmembers and at least one at-large voting member may be nominated by the Mayor; and
- WHEREAS, no ward shall have more than two voting members on the Commission; and
- WHEREAS, non-voting members include one representative selected by Historic Takoma, Inc., one representative selected by the Arts and Humanities Commission, and one representative selected by the Recreation Committee; and
- WHEREAS, voting members and representative members are appointed by the City Council to staggered three-year terms but no member may serve more than two consecutive full terms; and
- WHEREAS, the City Council has evaluated applications received to date and desires to make initial appointments at this time.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF TAKOMA PARK, MARYLAND THAT the following individuals are hereby appointed to serve as voting members on the Commemoration Commission, effective immediately, for the terms indicated:

Name	Ward	Term Expiration
Daniel Jessop	Ward 6	March 31, 2016

Jessica Kessler	Ward 2	March 31, 2017
Richard O'Connor	Ward 1	March 31, 2018
Mitchell Tropin	Ward 1	March 31, 2016
Jane Yamaykin	Ward 6	March 31, 2017

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT the following individuals are hereby appointed to serve as non-voting representative members on the Commemoration Commission, effective immediately, for the terms indicated:

Name	Representing	Term Expiration
Gelynn Hurt	Arts and Humanities Commission	March 31, 2016
Diana Kohn	Historic Takoma, Inc.	March 31, 2017
Howard Kohn	Recreation Committee	March 31, 2018

Adopted this 9th day of March, 2015.

Attest:

Jessie Carpenter, CMC City Clerk