Sustainable Maryland Committee Meeting Minutes September 11, 2023

Attendance

Chiara Atoyebi

Daryl Braithwaite

Dorothy Estrada

Irma Nalvarte

Janet Owens

Jeremy Schwartz

Emanuel Wagner

Sophia Yarrow

Discussion

The meeting was called to order at 7:06.

The SMC adopted the minutes of July 10, 2023.

- (1) The meeting followed with introductions of the new Takoma Park Sustainability Manager, Dorothy Estrada, and two new committee members, Jeremy Schwartz (Ward 3) and Emanuel Wagner (Ward 2). The Committee welcomed the return of Sophia Yarrow.
- (2) The Committee was presented with a complaint that its meeting actions were not in support of the Open Meetings Code. Specifically, the complaint noted that meeting agendas and meeting minutes were not posted in a timely fashion and one set of meeting minutes did not provide sufficient content of the meeting actions. Meeting minutes have been subsequently posted to the website and the December 2022 minutes were updated to include a Maryland Sustainable Certified TP actions spreadsheet link.
- (3) The Committee discussed meeting logistics and agreed (a) not to record meeting minutes, and (b) to meet occasionally in person with a continued option to always participate virtually. The Committee also discussed the need to have clarification- either from the City Council or the Mayor- on the purpose and focus of the Committee. Daryl and Dory agreed to communicate this issue to relevant persons and invite them to attend the next Committee meeting.
- (4) The Committee briefly discussed the Draft Maryland Climate Pathways Report that is likely to serve as a long term roadmap for achieving climate sustainability in Maryland and which will most likely be supported by the state legislature. While state funding will be used to promote

the findings discussed in the report, it is unknown whether and how the funding will be made available to Maryland communities. The Committee was encouraged to review the report for the next meeting: (Summary here: https://www.marylandsclimatepathway.com/services-7, full report

here: https://mde.maryland.gov/programs/air/ClimateChange/Documents/60x31%20Plan/ Maryland%27s%20Climate%20Pathway%20Report.pdf) .

(5) Chiara Atoyebi, President of the Committee, announced that she would step down from her position in December while remaining on the committee until June 30.

The next meeting was scheduled October 3, 2023 at 7pm. The Committee agreed to hold this meeting in a hybrid format in which members would meet in person at the TP Public Works Dept and a zoom link would also be available for those who could not attend the meeting in person.

The meeting adjourned at 8:30 pm.