## **2022 Sustainable Maryland Committee**

## Meeting Minutes, April 25, 2022

The members below were present:
Chiara Atoyebi
Brittany Baker
Janet Owens
Parag
Diana Picon
Megan Pierce
Orissa S
Sophia Yarrow

## **Approval of March Committee minutes**

The March minutes have not yet been distributed to the committee and have therefore not been approved.

## Prioritization and decision tool

Diana Picon presented the Sustainable Maryland prioritization and decision tool for actions taken by Takoma Park to achieve Silver certification in 2023. Diana reconfigured the existing information into a spreadsheet format that could be modified and updated by the committee to propose recommended actions.

The presentation raised the need to collect additional information on proposed activities and thematic categories, and most importantly how to determine priority and impact in addition to using only the point system to rank project decisions. Regarding information on existing food markets in the area, Sophia proposed to collect data on the existing Takoma Park food market activity and Brittany proposed to collect data on the existing Crossroads food market.

Questions to be resolved: (1) The committee determined that further information on how to earn points from special projects was required before continuing to rank and identify candidate projects.

- (2) How many new activities versus counting existing/ongoing activities should be considered?
- (3) How much additional policy and background information is required to prioritize choices?
- (4) How to determine cost effectiveness of proposed actions?

The committee members proposed to each review one or several of the ten categories to gain more understanding on the issues and to identify possible partnerships for collaborating on the proposed activities:

Category 1 Community Action – Chiara, Megan

Category 2 Community- Based Food Systems – Janet, Chiara, Sophia

Category 3 Energy – Brittany, Diana

Category 4 Greenhouse Gas - Orissa

Category 5 Health and Wealth – Megan, Diana

Category 6 Local Economies – Parag, Diana

Category 7 Natural Resources - Sophia

Category 8 Planning and Land Use – Megan, Chiara

Category 9 Historic Preservation – Janet

Category 10 Transportation – Parag, Megan

The Committee adjourned at 8:30pm.