

Takoma Park City Council Meeting – July 6, 2016 Agenda Item 3C - REVISED

Voting Session (Consent Agenda)

Resolution Providing for Appointments to the Safe Roadways Committee

Recommended Council Action

Adopt the resolution as part of the consent agenda.

Context with Key Issues

The City Council re-established the Safe Roadways Committee in 2012 to serve in an official advisory and coordination role to the City Council on all matters related to transportation, including, but not limited to, pedestrian and bicycle facilities and safety, traffic issues, and transit services. The Committee is to have up to 11 residents appointed to two-year staggered terms. Members may not serve more than six years continuously. Current members of the Committee are Elizabeth Cattaneo (Ward 2), Joe Edgell (Ward 2), Nicholas Finio (Ward 3), Katherine Kostiuk (Ward 3), Frank Demarais (Ward 5), and Michael Moore (Ward 6). There are five vacancies on the Committee. Terms of Nicholas Finio and Katherine Kostiuk expired June 30. They have applied for reappointment. The Council has been provided their applications plus applications from four new applicants: John Gorman (Ward 1), Katheryn Phillips (Ward 4), and Mark Sherman (Ward 3).

The Council has evaluated the applications and considers the applicants to be qualified candidates for service on the Safe Roadways Committee.

Council Priority

Engaged, Responsive, and Service-Oriented Government; Livable Community for All

Environmental Impact of Action

N/A

Fiscal Impact of Action N/A

Attachments and Links

• Draft Resolution Providing for Appointments to the Safe Roadways Committee

CITY OF TAKOMA PARK, MARYLAND

RESOLUTION 2016-PROVIDING FOR APPOINTMENTS TO THE SAFE ROADWAYS COMMITTEE

- WHEREAS, the City Council is committed to the goal of creating a sustainable, pedestrianfriendly and walkable community; and
- WHEREAS, the Safe Roadways Committee was re-established by Ordinance 2012-38 to serve in an official advisory and coordination role to the City Council on all matters related to transportation, including, but not limited to, pedestrian and bicycle facilities and safety, traffic issues, and transit services; and
- WHEREAS, up to 11 residents may be appointed to the Committee; and
- WHEREAS, members serve staggered two-year terms that expire on June 30, but may serve no more than six years continuously; and
- WHEREAS, at the present time there are five vacancies on the Committee and two members whose terms expired on June 30; and
- WHERAS, Nicholas Finio and Katherine Kostiuk have applied for reappointment; and
- WHEREAS, John Gorman, Katheryn Phillips, and Mark Sherman have applied for appointment; and
- WHEREAS, the City Council has considered the applications and finds all to be qualified candidates for service on the Safe Roadways Committee.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF TAKOMA PARK, MARYLAND THAT the following individuals are hereby appointed to serve on the Safe Roadways Committee:

Name	Ward	Term Expiration
Nicholas Finio	Ward 3	June 30, 2018
Katherine Kostiuk	Ward 3	June 30, 2018
John Gorman	Ward 1	June 30, 2018
Katheryn Phillips	Ward 4	June 30, 2018
Mark Sherman	Ward 3	June 30, 2018

Adopted this ____ day of _____, 2016

Attest:

Jessie Carpenter, CMC City Clerk