

Takoma Park City Council Meeting – June 21, 2017 Agenda Item 4D

Voting Session (Consent Agenda)

Resolution Providing for Reappointments to the Safe Roadways Committee

Recommended Council Action

Adopt the resolution as part of the consent agenda.

Context with Key Issues

The City Council re-established the Safe Roadways Committee in 2012 to serve in an official advisory and coordination role to the City Council on all matters related to transportation, including, but not limited to, pedestrian and bicycle facilities and safety, traffic issues, and transit services. The Committee is to have up to 11 residents appointed to two-year staggered terms. Members may not serve more than six years continuously. Current members of the Committee are Frank Demarais (Ward 5), John Gorman (Ward 1), Stephanie Kaufman (Ward 3), Katherine Kostiuk (Ward 3), Michael Moore (Ward 6), Katheryn Phillips (Ward 4), and Mark Sherman (Ward 3). There are four vacancies on the Committee.

Terms of Frank Demarais and Michael Moore expire on June 30. They have applied for reappointment and their applications were sent to Council for review.

Council Priority

Engaged, Responsive, and Service-Oriented Government; Livable Community for All

Environmental Impact of Action

N/A

Fiscal Impact of Action N/A

Racial Equity Impact of Action

We do not believe this action will disproportionately impact any particular group.

Attachments and Links

Draft Resolution Providing for Reappointments to the Safe Roadways Committee

CITY OF TAKOMA PARK, MARYLAND

RESOLUTION 2017-PROVIDING FOR AN APPOINTMENT TO THE SAFE ROADWAYS COMMITTEE

- WHEREAS, the City Council is committed to the goal of creating a sustainable, pedestrianfriendly and walkable community; and
- WHEREAS, the Safe Roadways Committee was re-established by Ordinance 2012-38 to serve in an official advisory and coordination role to the City Council on all matters related to transportation, including, but not limited to, pedestrian and bicycle facilities and safety, traffic issues, and transit services; and
- WHEREAS, up to 11 residents may be appointed to the Committee; and
- WHEREAS, members serve staggered two-year terms that expire on June 30, but may serve no more than six years continuously; and
- WHEREAS, at the present time there are four vacancies on the Committee and two members whose terms will expire on June 30; and
- WHERAS, the two members with expiring terms, Frank Demarais and Michael Moore, have applied for reappointment; and
- WHEREAS, the City Council has considered the applications and desires to reappointment both members.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF TAKOMA PARK, MARYLAND THAT Frank Demarais (Ward 5) and Michael Moore (Ward 6) are hereby reappointed to the Safe Roadways Committee for a term to expire June 30, 2019.

Adopted this ____ day of _____, 2017

Attest:

Jessie Carpenter, CMC City Clerk