

Voting Session (Consent Agenda)

Resolution Providing for a Reappointment to the Committee on the Environment

Recommended Council Action

Adopt the resolution as part of the consent agenda.

Context with Key Issues

The Committee on the Environment advises the City Council on environmental issues and serves in partnership with the City Council and Takoma Park City staff to achieve sustainability and other environmental goals. Serving on the Committee are John Ackerly (Ward 2), Jeffrey Brokaw (Ward 2), Sharon Cohen (Ward 3), Hellen Gelband (Ward 3), Sat Jiwan Ikle-Khalsa (Ward 2), Kopal Jha (Ward 2), Seth Maughan (Ward 2), Riaz Mohammed (Ward 6), Tamara Robinson (Ward 4), Geoffrey Short (Ward 4), Andrew Silton (Ward 1), Kirsten Stade (Ward 4) and Elizabeth Thompson (Ward 3). There is presently one vacancy on the Committee and one member whose term expired on June 30.

Denis Borum (Ward 6) was serving a term that expired on June 30, 2018. He has applied for reappointment. The Council has reviewed his application and considers Mr. Borum to be qualified for continued service on the Committee on the Environment.

Council Priority

Engaged, Responsive, and Service-Oriented Government; Livable Community for All

Environmental Considerations

Appointment of members to the Committee on the Environment helps to ensure that the Committee can continue its service in support of the Council's environmental goals.

Fiscal Considerations

N/A

Racial Equity Considerations

We do not anticipate that this action will disproportionately impact any particular group.

Attachments and Links

• Draft Resolution Providing for Reappointment to the Committee on the Environment

Prepared by: Irma Nalvarte, Assistant City Clerk Approved by: Jason Damweber, Deputy City Manager

CITY OF TAKOMA PARK, MARYLAND

RESOLUTION 2018-PROVIDING FOR A REAPPOINTMENT TO THE COMMITTEE ON THE ENVIRONMENT

WHEREAS,	by Ordinance 2012-37, the City Council redefined and reestablished the Committee on the Environment to serve as an important partner and advisor in matters related to environmental sustainability, protection, and restoration; and
WHEREAS,	the Committee is to be composed of 11-15 members appointed to staggered two-year terms; and
WHEREAS,	there is currently one vacancy on the Committee and one member whose term expired on June 30; and
WHEREAS,	Denis Borum (Ward 6) has applied for reappointment; and
WHEREAS,	the City Council finds that Mr. Borum is a qualified candidate for continued service on the Committee.
PARK, MAR	EFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF TAKOMA YLAND THAT Denis Borum is hereby reappointed to serve on the Committee on ent for a term to expire June 30, 2020.
Adopted this	day of, 2018.
ATTEST:	
Jessie Carpen City Clerk	ter, CMC