

Voting Session

Resolution Providing for Appointments to the Facade Advisory Board

Recommended Council Action

Approve Resolution

Context with Key Issues

The Takoma Park Facade Ordinance provides for the establishment of a seven-member Facade Advisory Board (FAB). The Board's primary function is to serve as an advisory body to the City Council and the Montgomery County Historic Preservation Commission; to provide input on regulated building projects in the Old Town and Takoma Junction commercial areas; and to provide technical assistance and support to affected commercial property owners.

The makeup of the Board is prescribed by the Ordinance. At least two Board members must be architects, planners, and/or historians. At least two members must own a building or business in the Takoma Old Town and Takoma Junction. One seat is set aside for a representative of Historic Takoma, Inc. for a one-year term. Board members, with the exception of the Historic Takoma representative and alternate, can serve for a maximum of two consecutive three-year terms. The following individuals currently serve on the board: William Fischer (Ward 3, second term expiring on March 31), Anne Fothergill (Ward 3, first term expiring March 31), Lucy Moore (Ward 3), Eric Sepler (Ward 6), Malcolm Williams (Ward 6), and Historic Takoma appointees Lorraine Pearsall (Ward 1) and James DiLuigi (Ward 6, Historic Takoma alternate).

Anne Fothergill (Ward 3) has applied for reappointment to the Facade Advisory Board. Historic Takoma, Inc. has named Lorraine Pearsall (Ward 1) to serve on the Board and Jim DiLuigi (Ward 6) to serve as alternate for one-year terms.

Council Priority

Engaged, Responsive, Service-oriented Government

Environmental Impact of Action

N/A

Fiscal Impact of Action

No fiscal impact.

Racial Equity Consideration

There is currently a lack of diversity on this board. Council and staff should seek out opportunities to recruit people of color to serve on all boards, commissions, and committees.

Prepared by: Rosalind Grigsby, Community Development Manager, HCD

Approved by: Suzanne Ludlow, City Manager

Attachments and Links

- Resolution Providing for Appointments to the Facade Advisory Board
- https://takomaparkmd.gov/government/boards-commissions-and-committees/facade-advisory-board/

CITY OF TAKOMA PARK, MARYLAND

RESOLUTION 2019 -

PROVIDING FOR AN APPOINTMENT TO THE FACADE ADVISORY BOARD

- **WHEREAS,** the City Council adopted the Takoma Park Facade Ordinance in 1999, requiring the review of certain building improvements occurring within the Old Town and Takoma Junction commercial districts; and
- **WHEREAS**, the Ordinance, as amended, provides for the establishment of a Facade Advisory Board whose primary responsibility is the implementation of the Takoma Park Facade Ordinance; and
- **WHEREAS**, membership of the Facade Advisory Board consists of seven individuals, at least two of which must be architects, planners, and/or historians, at least two of which must own a building or business in the Takoma Old Town and Takoma Junction area, and one of which is to serve as the representative of Historic Takoma, Inc.; and
- **WHEREAS,** Ms. Anne Fothergill, Takoma Park residents of Ward 3, has applied for reappointment to the Facade Advisory Board; and
- WHEREAS, Ms. Lorraine Pearsall has been designated by the Board of Directors of Historic Takoma, Inc. to serve on the Facade Advisory Board as its representative with Mr. James DiLuigi designated as the alternate; and
- **WHEREAS**, the Council has found these individuals to be appropriate candidates for continued service on the Facade Advisory Board.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF TAKOMA PARK, MARYLAND THAT Ms. Anne Fothergill is re-appointed to serve on the Facade Advisory Board for a three-year term expiring on March 31, 2022.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Ms. Lorraine Pearsall and Mr. James DiLuigi are appointed to serve on the Facade Advisory Board as representative and alternate of Historic Takoma, Inc., respectively, for one-year terms expiring on March 31, 2020.

Adopted this	day of March, 2019.	
ATTEST:		
Jessie Carpente City Clerk	er, CMC	