Voting Session (Consent Agenda)

Resolution Providing for Reappointments to the Committee on the Environment

Recommended Council Action

Adopt the resolution as part of the consent agenda.

Context with Key Issues

The Committee on the Environment advises the City Council on environmental issues and serves in partnership with the City Council and Takoma Park City staff to achieve sustainability and other environmental goals. Serving on the Committee are John Ackerly (Ward 2), Jeffrey Brokaw (Ward 2), Sharon Cohen (Ward 3), Hellen Gelband (Ward 3), Kopal Jha (Ward 2), Geoffrey Short (Ward 4), Andrew Silton (Ward 1), Denis Borum (Ward 6), Elizabeth Thompson (Ward 3), Kirsten Stade (Ward 4), and Seth Grimes (Ward 1). There are four vacancies on the Committee and three members whose term expired on June 30.

John Ackerly (Ward 2) and Kirsten Stade (Ward 4) were serving a term that expired on June 30, 2019. They have applied for reappointment. The Council has reviewed their applications and considers them to be qualified for continued service on the Committee on the Environment.

Council Priority

Engaged, Responsive, and Service-Oriented Government; Livable Community for All

Environmental Considerations

Appointment of members to the Committee on the Environment helps to ensure that the Committee can continue its service in support of the Council's environmental goals.

Fiscal Considerations

N/A

Racial Equity Considerations

We do not anticipate that this action will disproportionately impact any particular group.

Attachments and Links

• Draft Resolution Providing for Reappointment to the Committee on the Environment

Prepared by: Jessie Carpenter, City Clerk Approved by: Suzanne Ludlow, City Manager

CITY OF TAKOMA PARK, MARYLAND

RESOLUTION 2019-PROVIDING FOR REAPPOINTMENTS TO THE COMMITTEE ON THE ENVIRONMENT

WHEREAS,	by Ordinance 2012-37, the City Council redefined and reestablished the Committee on the Environment to serve as an important partner and advisor in matters related to environmental sustainability, protection, and restoration; and
WHEREAS,	the Committee is to be composed of 11-15 members appointed to staggered two-year terms; and
WHEREAS,	there are currently four vacancies on the Committee and three members whose terms expired on June 30; and
WHEREAS,	John Ackerly (Ward 2) and Kirsten Stade (Ward 4) have applied for reappointment; and
WHEREAS,	the City Council finds them to be qualified candidates for continued service on the Committee.
NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF TAKOMA PARK, MARYLAND THAT John Ackerly and Kirsten Stade are hereby reappointed to serve or the Committee on the Environment for terms that will expire on June 30, 2021.	
Adopted this _	day of, 2019.
ATTEST:	
Jessie Carpen	ter, CMC
City Clerk	