

Voting Session (Consent Agenda)

Resolution Providing for Appointments to the Complete Safe Streets Committee

Recommended Council Action

Adopt the Resolution as part of the consent agenda.

Context with Key Issues

The City Council reestablished the Safe Roadways Committee as the Complete Safe Streets Committee by Ordinance 2019-15 to advise and assist the City Council with respect to developing and implementing policies to increase transportation safety and accessibility, especially for pedestrians, bicyclists and transit riders.

Membership on the Complete Safe Streets Committee is to be comprised of up to 11 persons appointed by the Council, with efforts made to have representation from each of the City's wards and to ensure diversity of interests and subject matter expertise where feasible. Committee members serve staggered two-year terms beginning July 1 and ending June 30.

Opportunity to apply was advertised in the Takoma Park Newsletter. The Council has selected applicants for appointment.

Current members of the Safe Roadways Committee being appointed to the Complete Safe Streets Committee:

•	Frank Demarais (Ward 5)	Term Exp. 6/30/2021
•	Jessica Landman (Ward 1)	Term Exp. 6/30/2021
•	Michael Moore (Ward 6)	Term Exp. 6/30/2021

New members:

•	David Cookson (Ward 1)	Term Exp. 6/30/2021
•	Manela Diez (Ward 3)	Term Exp. 6/30/2021
•	Tracy Duvall (Ward 3)	Term Exp. 6/30/2021
•	Cindy Herrera (Ward 6)	Term Exp. 6/30/2020
•	Laurie Kelly (Ward 3)	Term Exp. 6/30/2020
•	Diana McCown (Ward 3)	Term Exp. 6/30/2020
•	Lacy McMullan (Ward 3)	Term Exp. 6/30/2020
•	Emanuel Wagner (Ward 2)	Term Exp. 6/30/2020

Council Priority

Livable Community for All; Engaged, Responsive, and Service-Oriented Government

Environmental Considerations

N/A

Prepared by: Jessie Carpenter, City Clerk Posted 2019-07-30

Approved by: Suzanne R. Ludlow, City Manager

Fiscal Considerations

N/A

Racial Equity Considerations

Council and staff should seek out opportunities to recruit people of color to serve on all boards, commissions, and committees.

Attachments and Links

• Resolution Providing for Appointments to the Complete Safe Streets Committee

Prepared by: Jessie Carpenter, City Clerk
Posted 2019-07-30

CITY OF TAKOMA PARK, MARYLAND

RESOLUTION 2019-

PROVIDING FOR APPOINTMENTS TO THE COMPLETE SAFE STREETS COMMITTEE

- WHEREAS, the City Council reestablished the Safe Roadways Committee as the Complete Safe Streets Committee by Ordinance 2019-15 to advise and assist the Council with respect to developing and implementing policies to increase transportation safety and accessibility, especially for pedestrians, bicyclists and transit riders; and
- WHEREAS, membership on the Complete Safe Streets Committee is to be comprised of up to 11 persons, with efforts made to have representation from each of the City's wards and to ensure diversity of interests and subject matter expertise where feasible; and
- WHEREAS, committee members serve staggered two-year terms beginning July 1 and ending June 30; and
- WHEREAS, after advertising the opportunity to apply for appointment, and reviewing the applications received, the Council has selected individuals for appointment.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF TAKOMA PARK, MARYLAND THAT the following residents are appointed to serve on the Complete Safe Streets Committee for the terms indicated:

Name	Ward	Term Expiration
1. David Cookson	1	6/30/2021
2. Frank Demarais	5	6/30/2021
3. Manela Diez	3	6/30/2021
4. Tracy Duvall	3	6/30/2021
5. Cindy Herrera	6	6/30/2020
6. Laurie Kelly	3	6/30/2020
7. Jessica Landman	1	6/30/2021

Name	Ward	Term Expiration
8. Diana McCown	3	6/30/2020
9. Lacy McMullan	3	6/30/2020
10. Michael Moore	6	6/30/2021
11. Emanuel Wagner	2	6/30/2020

Adopted this ____ day of July, 2019.

Attest:

Jessie Carpenter, CMC City Clerk