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Time to Care
Coalition

The Time to Care Coalition is
made up of hundreds of
individuals and organizations
representing:

» Service providers
Religious organizations
Unions

Advocacy groups
Businesses

Political Clubs
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What does
the law do?

Creates the Maryland Family and Medical Leave
Insurance (FAMLI) program which will provide
partial wage replacement for workers who need
to take time to care for themselves, a family
member, deal with the circumstances of a
deployment or welcome a new child into their
home.



Bill History

» June 2016 - Task Force to Study Family and Medical
Leave Insurance in Maryland was created

» December 2017 - Task Force report issued

» January 2019 -April 2022 - Time to Care Act introduced
and debated in the General Assembly

» March 20, 2022 - General Assembly passes SB 275
» April 8, 2022 - Governor Hogan vetoes Time to Care Act

» April 9, 2022 - General Assembly overrides gubernatorial
veto




Implementation Timeline

Q Fall 2022 Q 1 Oct. 2023

Department of Labor and Department
of Legislative Services must study and
report on capacity and needs of State
to implement the program.

Contribution Collection Begins

DOL promulgate regulations Benefits Available

Winter/Spring 2023 1 Jan. 2025




For what
purposes
can the
leave be
used?

worker’s own
serious health
condition

to care for a
family member
with a serious

health condition

to address
certain needs
related to a
family member’s
military
deployment




Almost all employees are covered.

Wh o Part-time workers are included if they worked
O ]S over 680 hours the previous year

Business size has no bearing on whether or not a
covered?

worker is included

Private and public sector workers are included



How much leave is allowed?

N

An employee can generally take up to 12 Employees who are welcoming a new child
weeks of leave per year. into their home and have their own serious
health condition can take up to 24 weeks.




How is family member defined?

» A family member is a child, parent,
spouse, grandparent, grandchild, or
sibling.

» Step parents, children, grandchildren and
siblings are included

» Parents-in-law are included




How is the program
funded?

>

>

Employees and employers will pay into the fund through
a payroll deduction.

The contribution amount has not been set yet. The
Department of Labor is in the process of making that
recommendation.

» As a frame of reference, other states with similar programs
have rates between .4% and 1.1% of wages.

DOL has also been tasked with recommending how to
split the contribution between employers and employees.

Employers with fewer than 15 employees are exempt
from making contributions.



Is the program mandatory?

» All employers in Maryland must provide
access to paid family and medical leave.

» Employers can apply to be exempt from the
State program if they offer a private plan
that meets or exceeds the State program.




Are self-employed individuals
included?

» Self-employed individuals can opt into the

program. They must commit to remain in the
program for at least 3 years.

» Self-employed individuals include owners of

certain companies where they are the only
employee.




Is an
employee’s
job
protected
while they
take leave?

» Yes. In most cases an employee’s job will be
protected while out on leave under
FMLI. There is an exception if:
» an employer can show that it would cause

substantial and grievous economic injury to restore
the employee to their position;

» the employer notifies the employee of their intent
to deny restoration; and

» the employee still elects to take leave.




What is the
benefit amount?

» The benefit amount
ranges from $50-5$1000
per week depending on
an individual’s average
wage.

» Employees who make less
money will receive a
higher percentage of
their average wage.




For additional information:
Regan Vaughan

Director of Advocacy

Time to
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Catholic Charities of Baltimore




