Introduced by:

## CITY OF TAKOMA PARK, MARYLAND

## **RESOLUTION 2024-**

## PROVIDING FOR APPOINTMENTS TO THE EMERGENCY PREPAREDNESS COMMITTEE

WHEREAS, the Emergency Preparedness Committee is established in Chapter 2.16, Article 4 of the Takoma Park Code and its duties and responsibilities are listed therein; and WHEREAS, the Committee is composed of up to nine members appointed by the City Council; and WHEREAS, Emergency Preparedness Committee members are appointed to two-year terms unless appointed to fill a vacancy with a shorter term; and WHEREAS, a subgroup of three City Councilmembers reviewed the applications and presented their recommendation for appointments at the work session on July 1, 2024; and WHEREAS, the City Council has considered the recommendations. NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT the following individuals are appointed or reappointed to the Emergency Preparedness Committee for terms to expire on June 30, 2026: Reappointments: Jim Della-Giacoma Ward 2 Kathleen Quinn Ward 2 Claudine Schweber Ward 2 New Appointment: Roger McGary Ward 1 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT Emergency Preparedness Committee membership is subject to provisions of Chapter 2.16 of the Takoma Park Code. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT this resolution shall be effective upon adoption. Adopted this \_\_\_\_\_ day of July, 2024. Attest:

Jessie Carpenter, CMC City Clerk