## **CERTIFIED RESULTS OF THE 2024 TAKOMA PARK CITY ELECTION**

### Mayor

Talisha Searcy.....4,592 WRITE-IN.....281

The winner is Talisha Searcy.

## City Council – Ward 1

Jessica Landman.....727 Shana Fulcher.....619 WRITE-IN......18

The winner is Jessica Landman.

### City Council – Ward 2

Cindy Dyballa.....734 WRITE-IN.....62

The winner is Cindy Dyballa.

### **City Council – Ward 3**

Roger Schlegel	624
Matt Bormet	478
Lucy Moore	266
WRITE-IN	36

### City Council – Ward 3 Instant Runoff

Roger Schlegel.....715 Matt Bormet.....654

The winner is Roger Schlegel.

### City Council – Ward 4

Kurt Gilbert......464 Tony Kyere.....215 WRITE-IN.....15

The winner is Kurt Gilbert.

## City Council – Ward 5

Cara Honzak......321 WRITE-IN......8

The winner is Cara Honzak.

## City Council – Ward 6

Amy Wesolek......260 Ambroise Agosse.....252 Jason B. Small.....210 WRITE-IN.....24

### City Council – Ward 6 Instant Runoff

The winner is Amy Wesolek.

# **Relevant Provisions of the Takoma Park Municipal Charter**

## Section 606 Election of Mayor and Councilmembers

(b) The Mayor and Councilmembers shall be elected using a ranked choice voting system allowing voters to rank in order of their preference the candidates for each office appearing on the ballot. If, after counting all voters' first choice listed on their ballots for an office, no candidate receives a majority of votes cast, the candidate with the fewest votes shall be eliminated. Each ballot shall be tallied again for that office counting the vote from each ballot for the highest ranked candidate who has not been eliminated. If still no candidate for that office receives a majority, the process shall be repeated until a candidate receives a majority of the votes for that office. The candidate receiving a majority of votes in each ward shall be declared elected.

(d) If a ballot has no more available choices ranked on it, that ballot shall be declared "exhausted" and not counted in that round or any subsequent round. Ballots skipping one number shall be counted for that voter's next clearly indicated choice, but ballots skipping more than one number shall be declared exhausted when this skipping of numbers is reached. Ballots with two or more of the same number shall be declared exhausted when such duplicate rankings are reached unless only one of the candidates with the duplicate ranking is an advancing candidate.

## Supplemental Report of the 2024 Takoma Park City Election

- 5,381 ballots cast and counted
- 11,666 registered voters
- 554 in-person Election Day ballots cast
- 293 mail-in ballots that were returned as undeliverable for registered voters who did not vote
- 109 ballots that were flagged during processing and which were cured
- 89 ballots that were flagged during processing and which were rejected

Ward #	Turnout %	Ballots Accepted	Total Registered
Ward 1	60.05%	1,371	2,283
Ward 2	38.91%	809	2,079
Ward 3	60.62%	1,413	2,331
Ward 4	37.64%	699	1,857
Ward 5	25.32%	334	1,319
Ward 6	42.32%	755	1,784

The Takoma Park Board of Elections consists of:

Timothy Anderegg (Ward 6), Co-Chair Ben Bellows (Ward 3), Co-Chair Joe Goldman (Ward 1) Gregory Lebel (Ward 1) Matthew Ling (Ward 2), Secretary Charles Nolan (Ward 3)

The Board thanks the following election workers and City staff for their diligent work and dedication to local democracy:

Jessie Carpenter (City Clerk), Irma Nalvarte (Deputy City Clerk), Arthur David Olson, Catrina Clark, Sofia Visurraga, Christine Heidelbrecht, Anne Sergeant, Daniel Riker, Ramon Sola, Tina Batten, Rhonda Reives, Molka Mraihi, Nicole Renwick, Kalib Bond, Murilo Dos Santos, Amnone Esunew, Nuhamin Michael, Nathaniel DeRoche, Gabriela Nalvarte, Morgan Hamilton, Michael Conrad, Patrick Conrad, James Ling, Christina Ferreri, Ryan Kelly, Bien Martinez, and John Pitt.